Atenció al públic

Dl- Dv 8:00 - 18:00

C/ Germana Victoria, 21

08551 Tona

93 812 47 62

evt@evt.cat

DESCOBREIX MÉS SOBRE L’EMILY

Ja fa unes setmanes que tenim a l’Emily, la nostra auxiliar de conversa, a l’escola amb nosaltres. L’alumnat de l’escola ha tingut l’oportunitat de conèixer-la millor i fer-li moltes preguntes. I vosaltres, què coneixeu sobre l’Emily?

Where are you from?

Hello, I’m Emily, and I’m from Nashville, Tennessee in the United States. Nashville is famous for being the home of country music. If you’re lucky, you might just see a country music star at the same shop or restaurant as you in Nashville!

What are your studies?

While at Michigan State University, I majored in human biology and psychology and minored in health promotion and teaching English to speakers of other languages (TESOL). Through my university I had the opportunity to study abroad in Spain, Guatemala, and Japan!

What are your hobbies?

I love spending time outside! I like hiking, scuba diving, and playing sports. When the weather isn’t nice enough to be outside, I like to play board games and card games. I also love to read. The classics are my favorites! I really enjoy spending time with animals of all shapes and sizes. 

How many pets do you have? 

I have 6 pets! I have two dogs, a chocolate lab named Charlie, and a coon hound named Brandy. I have three cats. Their names are Claws, Delta, and Coco. Claws is my oldest pet. He turned 17 this February! I also have a fish whose name is Red.

Why did you decide to be a conversation assistant? 

I studied teaching English in university, and after graduating, I obtained a teaching English position in Colombia as a volunteer in the Peace Corps. Unfortunately, I was not able to participate in this option because of the COVID pandemic. After COVID calmed down and the borders began reopening, I looked into English teaching options around the world, and the conversation assistant position was the best fit for me!

Why did you decide to come to Tona?

When I was 17 years old, I studied in Barcelona for two weeks. It was my first time traveling by myself, and I absolutely fell in love with the city. I told myself that I wanted to live in Catalunya one day, so when I received an offer to move to Tona, I accepted it immediately. 

What do you like about our school?

I think that both the students and the teachers are incredibly nice and welcoming. I am very excited to become a part of the Vedruna Tona community!

What’s your favorite place in the world?

I absolutely love to travel! I have been to 18 countries and 3 continents so far. My favorite place at this point would probably have to be Santorini, Greece, but I am excited for that to change as I see more of the world.